Pasu Blog

Yeah I'm not gonna update this anymore

Review: Atelier Sai’s Battle Waitress Mikuru – “Very disapointed”

sDSC06783
Alright, summer vacation! Time to do some reviews and I wanted to do this one for a while now. I’ll first explain the title for you: It’s Battle Waitress Asahina Mikuru from the Suzumiya Haruhi no Yuuutsu series, by Atelier Sai. When I saw her in the box and bought her, it looked so cool! But when I was home and had it on display for a while, I became very disapointed.

Sure! It looks really awesome if you see it like this, but there are some major problems with this one!

First problem: While the pose is really awesome, this jumping forward thing, it does mean the whole weight is supported by one leg. Especially in these hot summer days, it has giving me one major problem: it has started leaning. If you don’t know what it is, Danny Choo tackled the subject. I actually have it supported by a can and my tv remote right now (which gave the proper support on the angle of the leg).
sDSC06834

Not only is this needed to fight against the bending, it’s also necessary for her not to fall out of the base! The metal connecting the foot with the base is way too short and she’s tipping over.
sDSC06784

If I remove the support, it looks like this:
sDSC06839

And it’s supposed to be like this:
sDSC06840

I suppose I can glue the metal in the base, since the other side is also loose in her leg as well… But I shouldn’t have to do that! Sure, I’ve seen reviews of people not having this problem, but I think it’s worth mentioning.

Now on to the (mostly…) good stuff!
sDSC06778
sDSC06782

She comes with two sets of hands! As you can see in the photo’s a bit higher I like to go for the ‘One gun + Mikuru Beam’-pose myself. But again, another little complaint:

sDSC06785
One of the guns don’t really fit in her hand! It keeps falling out, which is so annoying >_<;
sDSC06786
However, this was easily solved by sticking some kneed-able eraser on it~

10052760a
Also, why don’t the finger go through the holes of the guns? The official art clearly shows it like that! You can bend the fingers in, but they won’t stay like that. Oh well, any policemen would tell you you’re not supposed to run around with a gun AND putting your finger through the hole like that anyway, in danger to shoot on accident, anyway.

sDSC06838
Pantyshot! But why bother trying to get some panty shots if you…

sDSC06835
…CAN TAKE THE WHOLE SKIRT OFF! Seriously, I never really understood the point to it, but she does have some cute panties worth showing~
sDSC06836

lucky-star-mikuru-figure
Oh, and did you know that Lucky Star’s Konata actually has this figure in her room? This was also partly why I bought it myself 8D; Luckely, I got it for about half the normal price of 7200 yen, which is way too many for a figure with these flaws. If you do think if getting one of you own (and why not, it’s a nice figure and most people don’t have problems with the base): there are two special editions as well. One looks like this one, but with her blue Mikuru Beam-eye, and one with a black dress instead of a pink one.

7 responses to “Review: Atelier Sai’s Battle Waitress Mikuru – “Very disapointed”

  1. kanimeblog July 11, 2009 at 04:24

    Haha, I was thinking about getting this figure, I kno it’s old, but Ive heard alot of people say it leans. Very good review. lol, I love the mikuru beam<33

    • Pasu July 11, 2009 at 10:02

      You have? Well, I’m glad I’m not the only one xD I’m making a support for her other leg to share the weight a bit so it doesn’t lean over that much~

  2. Pingback: Review: #33 Nendoroid Hatsune Miku + Petit Nendo Miku (and eBay bootleg compare) « Pasu’s Blog

  3. kanimeblog August 3, 2009 at 18:36

    Lol, She seemed a little expensive when i saw it first :\ She is calling me though :3

  4. Pingback: Review: Sega’s Waitress Yoko & Nia « Pasu Blog

  5. tsuruyasanblog May 21, 2010 at 02:41

    wow thats sad

  6. Pingback: Review: Sega’s Miku Hatsune Premium Figure « Pasu Blog

Leave a Reply

