Pasu Blog

Yeah I'm not gonna update this anymore

New camera GET!

Heh, I had so many photo’s ready for reviews this week, but as usual, they were so blurry I couldn’t really use them. The thing is, my main camera used to be an old Sony Cybershot (one of the first! From back in 2004!) which DOES have a macro, but isn’t really… well… good. I found it hard to believe my iPhone’s 3G 2MP camera actually worked a lot better than the Cybershot, except it didn’t have a macro at all, so it’s useless for figure photography. I couldn’t stand it anymore, so I ordered a new camera yesterday, which arrived today: the Canon Powershot SX1 IS!

Following are photo’s with my three camera’s, trying to get as close to the figure as possible without it blurring (except the iPhone, I had to be at least 30cm away for it to be clear, but then it’s not a close up anymore, right?). You can click on the photo’s for their original sizes.

iPhone 3G (no macro – 2MP 1600×1200)
IMG_1079 copy

Sony Cybershot DSC-P73 (macro – 4.1MP 2304×1728)
DSC07228 copy

Canon Powershot SX1 IS (super macro – 10MP 3648×2736) Full size is over 7 megabytes, so loading may take a while!
IMG_0026 copy

All are made right after each other with the same setting (normal daylight through my window). It’s fun to see that the iPhone beats the Cybershot in terms of light, but the lack of macro ruins it. As far as my eyes tell, the Canon wins in every way possible over the other two (which, given the price, is not that surprising I guess).

Lastly, I resized the Cybershot and Powershot photo’s to the size of the iPhone photo (1600×1200) and put the three together for a final comparison.
3 maten

In my opinion, totally worth the money.

2 responses to “New camera GET!

  1. anonymous_object September 12, 2009 at 05:46

    Congrats on the camera upgrade. Does indeed look like an improvement 😀

  2. Pingback: Review: Max Factory’s Haruhi Suzumiya (Gekisou Ver.) « Pasu's Blog

Leave a Reply

