Pasu Blog

Yeah I'm not gonna update this anymore

Pokémon TCG: my old addiction

Recently I’ve become addicted again to the Pokémon TCG game. It’s been years I actually played this game (and with playing, I mean actually competing in TCG official games), but I’m thinking of going back. Last week, I bought a boosterbox of the new HeartGold and SoulSilver (HGSS) set. What is a boosterbox, you ask? It’s a box with 36 boosterpacks, which means 360 cards and a LOT of wrappings!



Buying a boosterbox is a lot cheaper than going to stores to buy those boosterpacks seperately, but it doesn’t mean you’ll get all cards of the set! HGSS counts 124 different cards total, and in the end I was still missing 6. Luckily we have websites like eBay to help out, so I’m slowly getting those last cards to complete my set.

I bought this binder to store the cards, it comes with a nice checklist and numbered pockets. There’s room for 128 cards total, so you can fill it with the whole set and have 4 spares in case you have some extra special rare doubles.


Did you know when you open a boosterpack, the order of the rarities is always the same? I found out after watching a girl unpack her boosterbox on Youtube! Here’s a nice little reference for you. What I like to do is take out the rare and reverse, and see which commons and uncommons I got first, to build up some suspense XD


For those never played the games before. Common and uncommon cards are (obviously) the ones you’re more likely to find. Rare cards come in two flavours: holo and non-holo. Holo basically means the background in the Pokemon image is holographic. As you can see in the image above, Furret, Persian and Pichu’s cards are shiny. This means it’s a “reverse holo” version of the card. Almost every card has a reverse-holo version, even the exclusive holo rare cards.


HGSS brought in two new types of cards. Prime and LEGEND. Both are superpowered version of Pokemon and extra rare. In the image above you can see Meganium and Typhlosion. Those are Prime-Pokemon. The Ho-Oh you see is a LEGEND Pokemon. It’s so powerful you need two cards to play it! As you can see, I only have one half of Lugia, so I wouldn’t be able to play it in a Pokemon TCG match.


As you can see I got quite a few doubles. Out of the 360 cards, I only got 118 different ones, so that leaves 242 cards that I can’t put in the binder. I store those in a special box, along with all my older TCG cards (I use small pieces of cardboard to seperate the sets). I got about 800 in the box now. The left side holds the old ones, and the right side ones that are still tournament legal. I’m going to make a nice 60 Card Deck out of those 🙂

For those of you that would like to know which cards I got: I kept score! You can see the whole list HERE!
Quick explanation:
002 Azumarill 00000 Means I did not get this card.
061 Cyndaquil llll5l RH l Means I got 6 normal ones of this card and 1 Reverse Holo (for every fifth card I placed a “5”, for every other an “l”)
If you see a card I have double you wish to trade or buy, feel free to post here or contact me 😉


Lastly: if you saw my room back in 2009 (post here), you might have noticed a frame with Pikachu cards in the second photo. Well, I went on eBay and found a few more 😀 I’m looking to collect all Pikachu TCG cards out there as a hobby~ I’ll need to get a bigger frame soon though XD Again, you can see my list HERE!

11 responses to “Pokémon TCG: my old addiction

  1. ^^ March 8, 2010 at 23:37

    How much does pokemon holo cards cost now? I wanna sell my old ones on ebay.^^

    • Pasu March 9, 2010 at 00:06

      It really depends on the card. I suggest looking for the cards you own on eBay and see what other people ask for it 😉 Good luck selling!

  2. Pingback: Pasublog is 1 year old! « Pasu Blog

  3. Shann March 16, 2010 at 23:25

    ….old cards aren’t legal?
    crap crap double crap
    time to make a whole new deck
    what is the earliest tournament legal set? ex ruby and sapphire?

    • Pasu March 16, 2010 at 23:39

      Diamond & Pearl actually. You can see the whole list for yourself on Pokemon.com 🙂

  4. Tikay March 21, 2010 at 02:14

    How many did the booster pack (360 cards) cost? And in HG/SS there are 124 different cards (inclusice holo, rare, prime)? i’m curious where you bought the whole booster pack? Local Bart Smit? xD

    • Pasu March 21, 2010 at 02:17

      http://www.spellenhuis.nl/heart-gold-soul-silver-booster-display-p-17121.html 🙂 And yeah, HGSS has 123 normal numbered cards and a secret one, making it 124 in total

  5. Daniel July 30, 2010 at 22:03

    I just want you to know that I find the design your very exciting to look at. Also- good for you getting back into Pokemon TCG. Those were the days.

    • Pasu July 31, 2010 at 02:16

      Thanks! The new series will be released in 3 weeks XD I’m all excited again, like I was when I heard the new Jungle series were coming out 10 years ago XD

      • Daniel August 1, 2010 at 21:49

        Ha! I remember buying Jungle booster packets! Oh, we are so old. But I don’t care- I always found Pokemon more fun to play than Magic The Gathering, and I am still willing to play today. Have fun and enjoy your card collecting!

  6. Pingback: Loot! July & August 2010 « Pasu Blog

Leave a Reply

