Pasu Blog

Yeah I'm not gonna update this anymore

Review: Sega’s Miku Hatsune Premium Figure


The schoolyear is over and summer vacation started. I’ll hear whether I passed the year or not in 2 days [‘omg help idk if I passed’ smiley here]. For now, let’s post a review!

I got this figure a few weeks ago from Archonia, where it sold out in an HOUR! It’s one of those extra cheap ones used as prizes in Japan. Archonia sold it for about EUR18, which is probably the cheapest official 1/6 scale Vocaloid figure you’ll find. That’s right, she’s 1/6 scale, unlike the usual prize figures from Sega. I guess that’s why she’s called a ‘Premium Figure’ on the box.

Miku’s twintails aren’t attached to her head. Rather, you have to put them in the holes in her head, and then rest the ends on a little plastic stand.

It’s the first time I see this being used and I think it’s brilliant. This keeps the parts from falling perfectly! If only more figures would have this.

A full view. On first glance, the figure looks pretty good. I do wonder why they chose for a more blue hue for her hair though. Most figures of Miku use a more green or aqua color.

Details are pretty cool. The keypads on her sleeves look really good and her nails are painted.

I really like the face. The blushes give her a cheeky look.

Clothes look good as well. She has a the nicest body I’ve seen used on a Miku figure. Here you can see some of the flaws though, the blue zipline isn’t centered.

And the LED on her knee is just an ugly blue paintsmudge.

The shoes are pretty clever though. In most images you see of Miku, she is wearing very long boots, but wouldn’t those be impractical? Most cosplayers use black stockings with black shoes, which is much easier. This is the first Miku figure I’ve seen actually having stockings and shoes as opposed to the boots.

For a sense of size, here she is with GSC’s version of Miku, as well as the figma. It seems GSC and Sega both used the same image as a base, since the poses are so similar. It’s pretty cool to see they’re still so different!

In short, if you are looking for a cheap figure: get this one. The sculpt is really nice and pretty original, thanks to the use of other things than usual (blue hair, shoes…). The only downside is that the paint job isn’t top notch, but still decent. If you ARE looking for this figure, then good luck. She doesn’t seem to be in stock anywhere, but if you do find her, I can whole heartily recommend this one!

9 responses to “Review: Sega’s Miku Hatsune Premium Figure

  1. Tikay June 27, 2010 at 16:58

    It looks great for the price you paid. 1/6 scale, huge in comparison with the usual 1/8 pvc figures. Have fun with it.

  2. anonymous_object June 28, 2010 at 20:47

    Cool little figure. Not such a Miku fan myself but for that price, it’s hard to wrong with this figure ^^

  3. haruhi_suzumiiya99 July 3, 2010 at 08:34

    i just recently got her at an expo. she was 65$!!! little pricey but wat iexpected *sigh* but she is really big!! on my way home i kept telling myselft all the reasons why it was so much money!!! now my wallet is entering a slight depression, but will grow even more sad as the day goes on!!

    • Pasu July 5, 2010 at 01:27

      Oh wow, that’s quite a difference 😮 Well to tell the truth I’m surprised it was so cheap, if it would be more expensive I would still have bought it XD; And I’ve seen copies with better paintjobs, so maybe yours is worth more in the end? 😀

      • tsuruyasanblog July 6, 2010 at 22:02

        ya mine’s got a real nice paint job. and is why i was like 65$!!! because i got like 190$ of other stuff, ^^;
        i wondered if your’s looked more like the one on the box.

    • Pasu July 6, 2010 at 22:04

      Heh, no mine doesn’t like the box at all XD Especially the eyes are very different, but I don’t really mind XD

  4. Ayumi July 6, 2010 at 23:49

    I like your new theme! n_n

    And I envy your Miku collection. ^^;

    • Pasu July 6, 2010 at 23:51

      Hehe thank you~
      And yeah I kinda like Miku and Haruhi a lot, but I’m sure you figured that out, seeing the only two characters on my theme XD;;

  5. Pingback: WTS: 1/6 Miku & Yui MP3

Leave a Reply

