Pasu Blog

Yeah I'm not gonna update this anymore

Let’s fix a figma hand!

Let's fix a figma hand!

As some of you may know, I keep my figma pretty high above ground on a shelf. If one would fall, it would probably get damaged. Luckely the figma stands really help them standing still there. Untill I turned on my fan on max. Duke Togo came tumbling down, bravely holding his sniper rifle. His right hand couldn’t stand the impact and snapped in half.

Of course, the hand that broke is one of the rarest ones that only Golgo has. But don’t give up! We can still fix this!

First the hardest part. A small piece of your figma’s hand should still be in the arm’s socket. If you’re lucky you can pull it right out with a pair of tweezers. If you’re not so lucky, like me, you’ll have resort to more drastic measures. I got this needle-like thing (regular needles weren’t strong enough en bended), and started poking into the plastic of the hand, trying to pry it out. It was hard, I was more spooning little bits out before I finally got a hold of the final piece of plastic. Be carefull not to damage around the socket too much, or wiggle around a lot, or any hand you’ll put in will just fall out!

Now you need a donor hand. I wanted to use one of Kyon’s because I have two anyway. However, as you can see, they’re a bit different: Duke’s end as a little pole, while Kyon’s have a ball like shape at the end. This was actually the main reason those hands snapped in the sockets and have been changed because of it. It didn’t help Golgo with his 2 meter drop.

I ended up using one of Golgo 13’s other hands. I used the same thick needle-thing again to poke out the little stick from the side of the hand. Every figma hand has this and it’s very easy.

Here’s the broken hand with the donor. Just switch around the end of the hand with the little hole and put them back together! Pretty easy, right?

3 responses to “Let’s fix a figma hand!

  1. TAKET0MB0 July 31, 2010 at 20:32

    Togo gonna pop a cap in his ass!
    This post was REALLY helpful too xD

  2. anonymous_object August 2, 2010 at 05:10

    Nice repair job. Back when I owned Figma, one of Miyuki’s arms snapped off. I glued it back on but it never did rotate like it should have 😦

  3. Takeru September 8, 2010 at 14:30

    I never though of repairing them, they are pretty fragile.

Leave a Reply

