Pasu Blog

Yeah I'm not gonna update this anymore

Fake figma alert! Let’s compare it to the real one~

Yep, I also fell victim to those cheap cheap deals on eBay 😦 When I bought figma Mikuru Asahina Cheerleader Version, I though “Well, it’s fairly new. No way they already faked this!” I was very, very wrong. When I first saw it I was like “Hmm, it doesn’t look as bad as some cheap bootleg of PVC figures I’ve seen” and to be honest it isn’t even THAT bad. However, when I got a REAL one (of a seller I’ll always trust), I noted some differences.

bootleg1

Here they are together! Can you already spot some differences? No? Then read the rest of the entry and I’ll show you how to spot fake figma’s!

The fake one is on the right! Granted, I tried to hide the obvious flaws in the photo :3 I’ll tell you what they are: let’s take a look at the box first!

bootleg2

Okay, it looks pretty nice, doesn’t it? The color is slightly off, but you won’t notice that if you don’t have a real one to compare to! However, they made a very big mistake! Let’s zoom in on the front:

bootleg3

Look at the shadows! For the Photoshop users: it seems they forgot to set the shade to multiply ;D To everyone else: See how you can’t see the blue through the shadow in the fake one, but how you can on the real one? It means the shading just isn’t see through! This also counts for the photo’s used on the sides and back. So if you want to buy figma’s, then THIS is the number one thing to look at!

Alright, now that we’ve found the biggest flaw on the box, let’s see the figurine itself~

bootleg4

Okay, the joints of figma’s are a true craftsmanship. They are really hard to recreate and that certainly shows when we look at the knees! I actually had to rotate one of the fake knees because it was there reversed, so even the people who put them together have no idea XD I’ll also note here I also have the fake of Haruhi Cheerleader, and one of her legs keeps falling off… Other than that I guess the photo speaks for itself, so let’s take a look at the arms next:

bootleg5

You know how your arm moves, right? figma’s arms move just the same. The fake one’s shoulder is so stiff I really couldn’t bend it further back. The lower arm however bent so far back a normal person would’ve broken it XD

Let’s take a look at the accessories!

bootleg6

Oh, also see how her shoulders are different? Anyway, the pom poms! They, well… They look JUST like the real ones! However, the white part inside the real ones is glued stuck, but the fakes are easily pulled out. This isn’t really a problem if you pose them, since you can shove right back inside again~ They’re not bad at all!

bootleg7

bootleg8

The cheerleaders come with extra heads for the baseball caps. The front piece of the hair doesn’t really fit perfectly on the fake, but the cap will cover that anyway. But… Whoops, looks like the fake come with Haruhi’s baseball cap instead, so it doesn’t fit at all! See that little thicker part inside the cap? That is just like the special extra head the Haruhi figma comes with. Just a cheap solution for the fakers, I guess.

bootleg9

Okay, a quick look to the other accessories. They look fine, don’t they? Well, the hands aren’t that great, really. Some have little pieces of plastic sticking out, like the one right under “Fake”. Some are really hard to bend, while others just hang loose in the socket. Some are also too easy to put in the arms, while some are really hard… I’m afraid they’ll snap off and render a figure useless. I won’t ever use those fake hands. The baseball bat, glove and ball on the other hand… Are PERFECT knock offs! They look exactly the same and I can use them just fine for other figures as well. Baseball match pic soon? 8D

bootleg11

The faces also look fine. The left one is of Haruhi to compare. The only difference I spotted was that the pink of inside the mouths was SLIGHTLY darker in the fake, but other than that they’re fine!

bootleg10

A quick look at the bag. You can see the text isn’t the same quality, but it still is as sturdy as the real ones. The bag isn’t airtight though. Like, when you close a figma bag and press on it, you won’t be able to press out the remaining air inside. You can with the fake one.

bootleg12

That only leaves the stand! It works just as fine as the real ones, so they’re great backups. The thing I noticed at the base is that it easily gets cracked when you use it for a while. Well, and of course the text is a bit different.

bootleg13

Here’s another thing that easily shows if a figma is fake or not. The real ones are really clear, while the fakes are blurry. You can especially see it when you look at the bubble inside.

Well, that concludes the comparison for the bootleg VS real figma! When you buy ones in a store, the first thing you should look for is the shade on the box and the pole for the figma stand! However, the cheerleaders have the poles hidden in the bottom, but some other ones that are fakes (like Mikuru Asahina School Uniform Version) have the pole clearly on the left side! I hope this little thing was helpful to you~

EDIT
I got some questions which I´ll answer here.

Minaru: What about the box flaps? can I see them too?
bootleg14
Here you go! Yeah it’s maybe a bit too small to see, but… They’re perfectly copied. As long as it’s vector based (lineart, colors, text), it’s perfectly cloned of the original box. The only problem it has are the photo’s.

Marschmallowpie: the fake… was there Kadokawa’s round sticker on the box?
No, but there also wasn’t one on the original. Maybe it’s the reseller I get them from, but so far the only boxes I got with a sticker were Kyon’s and Saber (normal)’s.

xxangelchanxx: Oh…your mistaken about the stand part though…My saber from HLJ didnt have a clear stand while my haruhi summer ver. from playasia did.
Oh? Well I currently have 23 different figma’s and they all have the clear stand. My Saber too. Do you have that special Saber? From the game? I know that at least the Haruhi game ver. comes with a white stand.

superchan: pfff its in mine eyes almost the same …..
Hmmyeahhhh not so much. It may LOOK nice, but the quality is actually poor. If you think they’re worth to buy, then go ahead. I myself will never suggest the fakes over the real ones though.

64 responses to “Fake figma alert! Let’s compare it to the real one~

  1. BangBang! May 25, 2009 at 13:29

    Wow, never thought they would actually make a fake figma. o_o!! I was wondering why those hong kong ebay sellers are selling figmas now. >>

    Lol, thanks you so much for report!!!~

  2. Minaru May 26, 2009 at 14:07

    Thanks so much for the information!

    I can’t believe they would be so accurate…even to the bag!

    What about the box flaps? can I see them too?

  3. ciscocesc May 31, 2009 at 20:32

    Really good review

  4. Pingback: The Deathseeker » Blog Archive » The Painful Aftermath…

  5. The-O June 16, 2009 at 19:36

    This is clearly disturbing, definitely I will investigate this further.

  6. raineloire04 July 5, 2009 at 04:41

    wow thanks for the info! i almost bought a figma off of ebay and to think the price was just a few hundreds lower than the original! i thought i was getting a bargain geesh figma bootlegs are scary! good thing the bootleg nendos are much easier to see.

  7. experimentxx July 9, 2009 at 15:28

    Seriously, the knees are the only part that totally shows what the fake one is.. Guess I won’t buy figmas from ebay and the likes just to be safe

  8. LEon July 17, 2009 at 03:04

    Thanks for the info. Somehow the quality of the real figma are not that good also. I heard they are brittle for some joints.

    • Pasu July 17, 2009 at 10:25

      That true, especially the hand’s joint seem to snap off quickly. I have a friend with 2 figma and they both broke, one hand snapped and the other’s leg falls off. I however have over 20 figma and they are all fine. It’s just luck I guess…

  9. Pingback: Review: figma #036 Battle Maid Mikuru « Pasu’s Blog

  10. Ocean July 29, 2009 at 05:27

    Ugghh, this kinda scares me. Q_Q;

  11. Pingback: I choose you, Giratina! « Pasu's Blog

  12. Stefan September 6, 2009 at 16:42

    Forgive me if this sounds stupid, but whats the big deal? They look excactly the same from this point of view… im not into anime so this might sound stupid, but i just wonder why the real thing is better to you then the fake one.

  13. Pingback: Figma Yagami Hayate from Otacute – Customer Care Plus « Hobby Go Lucky!

  14. Pingback: KagaFAKEu? « The Tsundere

  15. moemoekyun November 11, 2009 at 20:50

    you forgot with the shinny sticker of authenticity from kadokawa usually it’s golden or silver ^_^

    • Pasu November 13, 2009 at 21:51

      Yeah I’m aware of the stickers~ However, most of my figma don’t have the sticker because they are imported by AAAAnime, including this Mikuru one. That’s why I didn’t say anything about, because I had nothing to compare it too xD

  16. Remix November 13, 2009 at 21:38

    Nice, I have a few figma, And this has proved that luckily they are completely legimate. This is better than people just asuming that anything from hong kong is fake. Because I buy from Hong Kong, but only from the same person, and everything I’ve had is 100% real.

    • Pasu November 13, 2009 at 21:58

      Very true! I myself get most of my figma from eBay, most most bootleg infested website out there xD It’s perfectly safe if you know what your doing and carefully read the feedback~

  17. Aneldo December 10, 2009 at 19:23

    i bougth a set of haruhi and mikuru cheerleader and when i see its fake and i dont know what i do with this fake figure, the are so ugly, this guy sell me the set in 4.99 and the shipping in 39.99, some guy called jackuballl or jackyball i dont remeber good, but be carefull if you going to buy a some lower price product

  18. Pingback: Links on how to check for bootleg | the #animemedia blog

  19. knuclear200x January 1, 2010 at 03:22

    Wow. I never knew fake ones existed at all for these babies. I’d better buy what I can at the walk-in store every time I visit.

  20. Pingback: Pasublog is 1 year old! « Pasu Blog

  21. iisolarthunder March 13, 2010 at 03:02

    It seems I’ve gotten an illegitmate Figma (035), but I am somewhat happy it wasn’t my Miku Hatsune ._.;; I still love my Kagami cosplay ver. though! Even if she is a fake.

    I noticed because her one knee was popped, there was a brown mark on her second face and I compared the bag to my Miku figma.

    Very very helpful!!

  22. mond March 21, 2010 at 05:24

    ehhs… i see that my back picture of the box does not have the AAA anime distribution… however the other parts are real? o.o

  23. stealthg April 11, 2010 at 15:48

    Thanks for the info, I just purchased a Miku figma off ebay and took my chances with a Hong Kong seller. When the figure get’s here I’ma be using this guide to know if I should return or not…XDXD

    • Pasu April 11, 2010 at 16:24

      I’m glad this page is helping so many people 🙂 I don’t think I’ve seen bootleg Miku figma yet, I hope yours will be legit 🙂

  24. haruhi_suzumiiya99 May 6, 2010 at 18:50

    so its DEFENTLY fake if its a rare one (like the Konata Izumi haruhi suzumiiya cosplay figure) and cheap, but would u say that $89 (+ $26 shipping) its considered cheat and could be a fake?

  25. Ayumi July 3, 2010 at 13:21

    I look forward to my HK ebay Konata arriving… I’m certain it’s from a legitimate seller however. I’ll let you know if it’s not… Maybe starting a list of legitimate ebay sellers would be a good idea? ^_^

    I’ve added you to my blogroll. ^_^

    • Pasu July 6, 2010 at 23:48

      Thanks for the add n_n Are you a member on MyFigureCollection? You may like the website, since I guess you just started your collection (at least with your 4 L*S girls XD; )~ You can also add your mousepad, as I did with mine (I’m Pasukaru there).

      Anyway, there’s a forum there with some topics about eBay sellers, worth checking out 🙂

  26. Ayumi July 7, 2010 at 12:49

    No problem! n_n yea, I have an account there, I’m Ayumi. It’s a good site! I did have a look online and it seems to me the seller is trustworthy and selling legitimate stuff, so hopefully it’ll all work out. ^_^

  27. Rukishou July 13, 2010 at 11:58

    Why would you even bother to make a fake? It can’t be free and it has got to be at least a little challenging… you can’t just throw some clay in there with a Mikuru face on it.

  28. dashaman August 23, 2010 at 20:36

    this scares me, im about to start my figma collection, i hope that the yuki nagato witch version im about to buy from ebay is not a fake.

    since it is all sold out on most online shop, i get to find one selling unopened box, im asking for a copy of the boxed picture since he posted a generic photo from the internet.

    i will do blog about it when i get it.

    thanks for this post, will add you to my blogroll.

    • Pasu August 24, 2010 at 00:37

      I don’t think there are any bootleg Witch Version Yuki’s out there, so you may be in luck with that one 8D And thanks for the blogroll add!

  29. Takeru-kun September 12, 2010 at 11:27

    Thanks for the heads up, I never thought about fakes before so now I’ll check careful when purchasing now.

  30. go2sleep327 September 28, 2010 at 13:57

    I think I’m a victim of being sold a fake Figma. I bought the Cheerleader outfit Haruhi a couple of months ago. I’m looking at your pics and explanations and I seem to have the some of those fake issues. Like the knees look like the fake ones. But there are some things about my Haruhi figure that are real. That’s what confuses me if my figure is real or fake. The base and stand looks like the real one. So does the baseball hate. But the shoulders and knees look like the fake ones. I’m so confuzzled. I bought this figure from a local anime shop, i thought they could be trusted. Maybe they didn’t know they got ripped off either.

    • Pasu September 28, 2010 at 14:00

      I also have the Haruhi one, and it’s deffo ‘better’ than the Mikuru one (which is why I chose her for the article). The easiest way to see if it’s fake is to check out the box, did you see the pic I showed you with the wrong shadow? The Haruhi box has the same problem.

      • go2sleep327 September 29, 2010 at 13:08

        Thanks, I just checked my box. There’s no shadow. I’ve been ripped off =(. Also, I compared that box to my other Figma boxes like the Mikuru Combat Waitress one, and not only is there shading, but the color and everything is way more vibrant than the fake one. The fake looks so pale and obviously copied. Thanks for the heads up. I just ordered a Figma Yui Hirasawa from Amiami. Hopefully that Figma isn’t a fake. At least all my other Haruhi Figmas are legit.

        Also, my cheerleader Haruhi figure’s joints are so loose that I can barely pose her. Unlike my other real Haruhi (school uniform) which the joints are still strong and holds every pose I do.

  31. Mr.B October 3, 2010 at 00:14

    I just got the cheerleader set (Haruhi & Mikuru) from a store on eBay called hisoka out of HK, and I realized they were fake before I found this this article, but you are dead on. Also the two have their helmets swapped, and their knees are reversed upside down, and the joints will loosed with some careful work. You are right the joints are very nice when compared. Some random other joints were also reversed. My stand had rust on it. But handle these and then handle real ones its SO obvious. On the other hand when figma changed the knees that through my speculation for awhile. I also think the face paint is dimmer and the fake ones have tons of flashing from inconsistent molds. My boxes were also dimmer paint scheme. I wonder if their molds are copies or re-uses using less stringent quality standards and plastic quality. I wonder if after the real run some guy pays off the manager toi either come in a grab defects or make their own run on the same molds but cutting corners elsewhere. Its cool that figmas hold their value, I intially thought that these were over-produced and undersold, and therefore on sale. Would you say that Japanese based e-stores are pretty reputable, because I see sales all the time at Anime-Export, HLJ, Hobby Search and so on…? Who doesn’t want to save some money. I just got the the set, just opned it and a few hours later read your page after it became clear that there were more boot’s out there for other discounted figures (muddolow on eBay?) Not all have a sticker either, I just checked. My downfall is I gather the collection and then make the displays. I should be opening as I go. I’m not even sure about US stores (they are some on sale that are on the BL lists I’ve just found)? Now I am considering getting the cheerleader set again, but I’m bugged that I missed come sales at HLJ & 1999.co.jp (1800y). Just what the hell do I do with them now? Thanks again, it alwasy seems to pay to do your homework these days…

  32. Serenity♥ October 31, 2010 at 04:27

    Thanks for making this. I just bought a Black Rock Shooter figma at a cheap anime store by my house and I began to check the joints, stand, bag, ect… and It`s passed inspection. Thanks again 🙂

  33. Ance November 26, 2010 at 18:17

    Hey great post!, do you have a Figma Suzumiya Haruhi figure winter uniform school version to compare with a false one in a post, I want to check if my figure its original, well it have in the box a “Kadokawa Production” sticker but Im not sure about it, Thanks.

    • Pasu November 27, 2010 at 01:33

      Assuming the sticker is real, it probably is 😉 I don’t have one myself, but if the knee joints look good, and the images on of Haruhi on the box look like they’re in good quality, I’m 99% sure it’s a real one 🙂 Where did you buy it?

      • Ance November 27, 2010 at 05:10

        Everything its right in my figure including the knees, Well I believe the seller is trustworthy because is responsable and the price of the figure its Well…not cheap, and he travel to Japan and Korea to buy his figures and he is a collector of Suzumiya Haruhi merchandising but with the fake Figmas around you ever have doubts if your figure its Real or Fake , well I bought it in “Mercado Libre” here its the link (Its in Spanish) :

        http://articulo.mercadolibre.cl/MLC-28990247-tmohs-haruhi-suzumiya-uniforme-figma-articulada-no-002-_JM

        Its from Chile, it cost $37.500 Chilean Pesos (U$64 dollars approximate)

        Thanks for the Reply.

        • Pasu November 27, 2010 at 06:00

          Okay, while I’m sure it’s a real one now, that sure is a high price to pay! Have you considered using websites like Otacute, Hobby Search and the like? I live in Europe and get mine of the Japan-based Otacute myself, which has pretty fair prices and shipment fees.

  34. Ance December 6, 2010 at 19:07

    Me again xD, another thing that I think is important is the smell of the figure, have the real one and the fake one the same smell?

    I ask that because in other blog i read that the fake ones smell like new paint, mine figure smell like new plastic, well I think is the PVC.

  35. onceshewrote December 10, 2010 at 22:22

    oh man, oh man, i’m freaking out! i just bought a tsuruya for $20. oh god, it’s fake isn’t it! after reviewing the product, he states its offical, but then again he wouldn’t say if it was a fake! i checked his feedback over the past year and he only has 11 bad reviews out 902 and none of the bad reviews mentioned counterfeit products. one guy said inferior, but there diffrent things right? there was only one picture of the actuall box, and i didn’t see that photoshop shadow thingy, but he could have just been using another photo! give to me striaght doc. am i looking at a bootleg?

  36. Miku Hanato December 11, 2010 at 12:36

    Hey. NICE POST 8D

    Whoa, I never know HK sellers in Ebay sells bootleg figmas… Thank you for this useful post. I also have a Haruhi Cheerleader figma that I bought last year, and its real xD

    ^ _ ^

  37. lulu December 14, 2010 at 11:36

    can anyone help me how to spot fake lelouch figma?? as well suzaku figma??

  38. Pingback: 2010 in review « Pasu Blog

  39. TheGame January 5, 2011 at 04:40

    I Bought a Yuki Nagato figma today, She was $24.99… Do you think this is a fake? Is the price too low? Because I really don’t want a fake figma.

    • vitos January 9, 2011 at 21:46

      from what i’ve seen Nagato is one of the more expensive figmas. i don’t think i’ve ever seen one under $50, but i bought my tsuruya for only $20 and she’s real, so i wouldn’t loose hope just yet. it ultimately depends on the seller. check the seller’s feedback for negative comments but more importantly people complaining about fakes. if the seller has all good reviews, your probly ok.

  40. tomiko imai July 1, 2011 at 03:28

    Today my Arargi Koyomi figma came in the mail. I WAS SUPER EXCITED.
    I payed the same amount as pre-orders, which are almsot always real.
    I checked this to make sure he was real, but the box has FAKE ALL OVER IT, as for the figma, his joints are more “realistic”.
    I WILL NEVER BUY FIGURES OFF EBAY AGAIN.
    Thank you for your post!

  41. Otah Ku July 6, 2011 at 15:44

    I’m amazed by the quality. Do they even smell bad? Lol~
    Wondering if the box material do differ from the real, but newer bootlegs are sure to come with improvements, aren’t they?
    Thanks for the review, gotta be more careful again. 😀

  42. Keith Hanzhel July 29, 2011 at 09:13

    I got a fake Kirisame Marisa….
    and that was my biggest regret when collecting figma….
    I already read your post before so when I see the box for the first time, I already know that was a fake…. and a bad one too…. her neck is too tall,her hand is bended in strange way,the hand which hold the book is swapped from right to left,the joint is hard,and the stand lost one of its screw…. OTL

  43. Davito July 29, 2011 at 18:55

    Thanks for making this entry. I recently bought a figma off ebay and started to wonder about its genuinity. I checked everything mentioned in this post and after comparing it to a genuine one I was lucky to find out that my figure is the real thing.

  44. Hannah Dang September 1, 2011 at 11:59

    Im thinking of buying from this seller on ebay but i am not sure if this is real, please help me so that i can be sure, i am using my money on something worth it
    http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/KEION-K-ON-HIRASAWA-YUI-Figure-School-Uniform-Figma-057-/180705810492?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item2a12e7d83c

    • Pasu September 2, 2011 at 19:41

      Hey Hannah! On that photo, do you see the shiny sticker on the upper-right? That is the official sticker most REAL figma boxes will have, so I’m 95% sure this one is real 😉 It’s a bit pricey though, but I guess Yui is hard to get these days 😦

      • Hannah Dang September 3, 2011 at 07:38

        Thank you so much, and what is the price now or days?
        40-50? hmm
        Thats true Yui is very hard to get, but im very curious about how the sticker on the upper right is crooked not straight.

Leave a comment